Skip to content

Awesome Culture Jamming – Abortion Changes You

April 6, 2010

Another awesome example of culture jamming, if you’re having trouble reading it due to the glare, captions are below the image. I couldn’t find a picture of an unjammed version of the ad but there really isn’t much more to it. If I’m not mistaken, the added sign is just placed over whitespace.

EDIT: Under the added sign is a small image that I can’t make out and the words Abortion Changes You.

The original ad claims “I thought life would be the way it was before.” with the caption at the bottom, abortionchangesyou.com.

The culture jammer added the sign which says “Now I can go to college & fulfill my dreams.”

I take issues with these ads because the insinuate that women are always changed by abortion which isn’t true. Some women are changed for the better by abortion, some women regret their abortions and are changed for the worse, some women aren’t changed at all.

From → Culture Jamming

5 Comments
  1. I’ve wanted to do/say things like this whenever there are anti-abortion rights folks protesting… but in order for me to get the access I get for my photography, keeping my mouth shut is a necessity.

    I gotta say, though, that’s an awesome thing to see.

    • That’s totally understandable. One of the great things about certain kinds of culture jamming is that you’re totally anonymous though. One woman had stickers printed so that she could just slap one on ads as she passed, unnoticed.

      I would love to see some of your photography, do you have a website or flickr account?

      • Feel free to hit up the “photojournalism” collection on http://flickr.com/queerbubbles. The pics from the March for Life are in there, but there’s also the fun fun fun that are the tea partiers… somewhere in their own set.

  2. I think there might be words behind the added sign. it looks like there is a period on the side of the page?

    • Yup, you’re right. I actually saw another cultured jammed version of this today that I was planning on putting up as well. Behind the sign is another small image that I couldn’t make out and the words Abortion Changes You.

      Thanks for pointing that out!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

