Skip to content

I’m Pro-Choice Because…

March 19, 2010

The Abortion Gang

This is my first post at the Abortion Gang blog outlining why I’m pro-choice. The Abortion Gang blog is written by unapologetic activists for reproductive justice, the quote below will let you know a bit more about who we are.

We are Jewish, Christian, atheist, Muslim, Wiccan, secular. We are mixed race, African-American, Latina, White, bi-racial. We are completing a graduate degree, we didn’t finish high school. We have had abortions, children, miscarriages. We have IUDs and we use rhythm beads. We work in reproductive health and we twitter about being #prochoice. We call ourselves feminists, womanists, womyn, wimmin, grrls, women. We are cis gender, we are trans women, we’re gender queer. We have sex with anything that moves, we are abstinent, we are poly amorous.

And we stand for choice.

I’m Pro-Choice Because…

I don’t remember how I came to the pro-choice movement. I grew up a very sheltered life in the rural south and though I had quite a bit of religion pushed on me, I can’t recall ever hearing anyone talk about abortion at all. I figured out when I was 11 and my only sibling was born that I never wanted kids and the thought of accidentally getting pregnant later in life terrified me. So at the time abortion wasn’t a known option at the very least. The time of my worldly education when I finally got out of that toxic area of the country is a bit of a blur for me. But it was in this time that I learned about feminism and women’s rights and became pro-choice.

So, since I don’t have a clear and/or interesting becoming pro-choice story, I’ll just have to settle for why I decided to be pro-choice. If you can even call it a decision, the idea that there are people who actively fight against basic human rights baffles me.

  • I’m pro-choice because I believe that every woman has a right to decide what happens to her own body.
  • I’m pro-choice because I believe that forced pregnancy is akin to rape.
  • I’m pro-choice because I believe that the rights of a born woman with ties in the world trumps those of a not yet sentient being.
  • I’m pro-choice because I don’t believe that the government should be in control of anyone’s reproduction or personal medical decisions.
  • I’m pro-choice because the right to personal privacy and bodily autonomy should be afforded to all people regardless of gender.
  • I’m pro-choice because I don’t believe in imposing my will on others.

And finally, I’m pro-choice because I recently had an abortion and have never felt so grateful to have access to something in my life. I was pro-choice for years before I had an abortion but never could I have fully imagined how horrible it feels to be pregnant when you don’t want to be.

2 Comments
  1. Granted, I stumbled on this blog after clicking on my own tag, just to see what others were saying, but I gotta say that from my short experience (all 25 years), having an abortion seems to be the most emotionally difficult and liberating thing, all wrapped up into one.

    It cant be easy, and I would probably not choose to have one, but at least that option is there for other folks in the world. Far be it for anyone to say what you can or cant do with your own body.

    I’m pro choice because I dont like it when people tell me what to do, so why should I tell others?

Leave a Reply

